Jane – April Lindner

Image

 

Book Summary

Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance. 

But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

An irresistible romance interwoven with a darkly engrossing mystery, this contemporary retelling of the beloved classic Jane Eyre promises to enchant a new generation of readers.

 

Book Review

I thought this book was going to be okay. I love Jane Eyre so much, and I didn’t really know if I was going to like a modernized twist to it. Really, the only reason why I decided to read this book was because of the cover which – as you can see – is amazing. This book was actually a really pleasant surprise. I seem to have been on a streak of disappointing books lately and, thankfully, Jane brought an end to it.

This book was the very first realistic fiction I have ever read by choice. I know. I can feel you judging me right now. Everything I read has magic, or syfy, or mermaids. Plus, I’ve never really liked all those book they make you read in high school. They were always so boring. So – until now – I stayed far away from that genre. But after I read the description of Jane I thought, “Well, I could try it…” Thankfully, this book really opened my eyes to what realistic fiction is like. Not everything has to be full of magic and fantasy. Sometimes it’s nice to read things that could actually happen.

Even though I’m a big fan of Jane Eyre, I’ve never actually read the original book. I’ve seen several movies (which I know isn’t the same thing) and loved all of them. The reason why I’ve never read it is because the style of writing is always very confusing for me to understand. I can barely understand what they’re saying in the movies.

The characters in Jane are amazing. They’re so well rounded that you forget that they’re not actually real people. Even though April Lindner stayed pretty close to the original story there were still elements to Jane that made this book just as suspenseful as Jane Eyre.

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars. It was a nice read that really reminded me a sweaters and rainy days. Don’t ask why.

 

Favorite Quotes

  • “Every so often, a lightning flash would reveal us to each other, and the expression on his face – so rapt, so helpless, so utterly mine – was the most beautiful thing I ever expected to see in my life.” 
  • “Let to your own devices, you’d show up for the wedding in overalls,” he said.
    “But they’d be white ones.” 
  • “Because I do have feelings, and if I were beautiful and talented and famous, I’d make it as hard for you to leave me as it is for me to leave you.” 
  • “This can’t be real,” he said into my hair. “This has to be an acid flashback.” I laughed, delighted to be in his arms. “I swear I’m not an acid flashback.” 
  • “Don’t pull away from me like I disgust you. You’ll break my heart.”

 

 

Have a book you want me to review? Just comment down below and let me know!

Visit my Goodreads! 

https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/22095574-cherith-elizabeth

6 thoughts on “Jane – April Lindner

  1. Might have to pick this one up after I read the original.

Leave a Reply

